You acquire a +1 bonus on attack and also damage rolls through ranged weapons at varieties of as much as 30 feet.

You are watching: Does point blank shot apply to spells

Also, Precise Shot has actually a similar line that provides me question it;

You deserve to shoot or throw ranged weapons at an foe involved in melee without taking the traditional –4 penalty on your attack roll.

All emphasis mine.

I can not recognize if that means that just ranged weapons get the bonoffers or all ranged assaults.

Would a ranged touch assault gain the bonus on assault rolls from either of these accomplishments and equivalent various other ones? What about the bonus damage from Point-Blank Shot?


pathfinder-1e feats touch-strikes
Share
Improve this question
Follow
edited Dec 26 "14 at 20:04
*

KRyan
300k5050 gold badges750750 silver badges12121212 bronze badges
asked Jun 15 "14 at 12:57
*

NerevarNerevar
4,9451111 gold badges5151 silver badges8080 bronze badges
$endgroup$
Add a comment |

1 Answer 1


Active Oldest Votes
11
$egingroup$
Yes, ranged strikes from spells are frequently considered to be "weapon-like". This is absolutely true of rays (and also nearly all ranged touch attack spells are rays) because from the rules:

You aim a ray as if making use of a ranged weapon

The rules further clarify that rays attribute as tools for a number of other objectives, and also the FAQ makes this incredibly explicit:

Do rays count as tools for the function of spells and results that influence weapons?

Yes <...> rays are treated as weapons, whether they"re from spells, a monster capacity, a class capability, or some other source

The exact same rule applies to weapon-like spells such as flame blade, mage"s sword, and also spiritual weapon--results that influence tools job-related on these spells.

Most ranged touch assaults which aren"t rays are points like acid splash -- spells wright here you actually throw or aim a physical object. Those are also even more "weapon-like" than rays, so it"s probably most basic to say all ranged touch attacks job-related favor this.

There"s an additional FAQ that shows you have the right to take "Weapon Focus (ray)" and the like; strictly speaking I guess those wouldn"t apply to orb spells choose acid splash.

See more: The Corroborative Use Of Physical Evidence Means That It Can Be Used To:

This is all adhering to the precedent collection by 3.5; in Complete Arcane it specifies that rays and also touch strike spells are "weapon-like" and for this reason interact via accomplishments in the very same method that various other weapons perform, with a separation in between ranged/melee type spells.